Daryl Roth

President, Daryl Roth Productions

Daryl Roth is honored to hold the singular distinction of producing seven Pulitzer Prize-winning plays: Bruce Norris’ Clybourne Park (Tony Award);  Tracy Letts’ August: Osage County (Tony Award); Nilo Cruz’s Anna in the Tropics; David Auburn’s Proof (Tony Award); Margaret Edson’s Wit; Paula Vogel’s How I Learned to Drive; and Edward Albee’s Three Tall Women.

The proud recipient of ten Tony Awards and London’s Olivier Award, she has produced over 100 award-winning productions both on and off Broadway.  Broadway productions include: Thomas Meehan, Charles Strouse and Martin Charnin’s Annie; Bea Arthur on Broadway; Tony Kushner and Jeanine Tesori’s Caroline, or Change; Harvey Fierstein’s A Catered Affair; Twyla Tharp’s Come Fly Away; Helen Edmundson’s Coram Boy; Clifford Odets’ The Country Girl; Arthur Miller’s The Crucible; Kander and Ebb’s Curtains; Edward Albee’s A Delicate Balance; Eugene O’Neill’s Desire Under the Elms; Terrence McNally’s Deuce; Alfred Uhry’s Driving Miss Daisy;  Bill T. Jones’ Fela!; Edward Albee’s The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? (Tony Award); Stephen Karam’s The Humans (Tony Award); Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee’s Inherit the Wind; Dan Gordon’s Irena’s Vow; Mark Twain’s Is He Dead?; Barbara Anselmi and Brian Hargrove’s It Shoulda Been You; Fierstein and Cyndi Lauper’s Kinky Boots (Tony Award); Alan Menken, Janus Cercone and Warren Leight’s Leap of Faith; Stephen Sondheim’s A Little Night Music; Nora Ephron’s Lucky Guy; Friedrich Schiller’s Mary Stuart; Euripides’ Medea; Larry Kramer’s The Normal Heart (Tony Award); Richard Bean’s One Man, Two Guvnors;  Lorraine Hansberry’s A Raisin in the Sun; Oscar Wilde’s Salome, the Reading; George C. Wolfe’s Shuffle Along; A.R. Gurney’s Sylvia; Charles Busch’s The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife; George Stevens Jr.’s Thurgood; A Time To Kill by John Grisham, adapted by Rupert Holmes; Anna Deavere Smith’s Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992; Arthur Miller’s A View From the Bridge (Tony Award) ; War Horse (Tony Award); Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking; and Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman’s You Can’t Take It With You.

Off-Broadway credits include:  James Lecesne’s The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey; Jane Anderson’s The Baby Dance; Edward Albee and Samuel Beckett’s Beckett/Albee; Jonathan Tolins’ Buyer & Cellar; Mark St. Germain’s Camping with Henry and Tom; Richard Maltby Jr. and David Shire’s Closer Than Ever; Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich’s Dear Edwina; Jane Anderson’s Defying Gravity; Charles Busch’s Die, Mommie, Die! and The Divine Sister; Eric Walton’s Esoterica; George C. Wolfe’s Harlem Song; Kenny Finkle’s Indoor Outdoor; Judy Gold’s The Judy Show; Nora Ephron & Delia Ephron’s Love, Loss, and What I Wore; Paul Grellong’s Manuscript; Aaron Posner’s adaptation of My Name is Asher Lev;   Brian Copeland’s Not a Genuine Black Man; Jon Marans’ Old Wicked Songs; Charles Busch’s Olive and the Bitter Herbs; Stephen Adly Guirgis’ Our Lady of 121st Street; Edward Albee’s The Play About the Baby; David Marshall Grant’s Snakebit; Stars of David, based on the best-selling book by Abigail Pogrebin; Alan Bennett’s Talking Heads; Matthew Lombardo’s Tea at Five; Jon Marans’ The Temperamentals; Will Eno’s Thom Pain (based on nothing); Daniel Beaty’s Through The Night; Morris Paynch’s Vigil; David Pittu’s What’s that Smell? The Music of Jacob Sterling; Tom Dugan’s Wiesenthal; and De La Guarda, which ran for 7 years as the inaugural production at the Daryl Roth Theatre, a landmark building on Union Square.

Film credits include the upcoming James Lapine film Custody starring Viola Davis; Albert Nobbs starring Glenn Close, directed by Rodrigo Garcia; the Emmy-nominated HBO feature, Dinner with Friends, based on Donald Margulies’ Pulitzer Prize-winning play; The Lady in Question, a documentary based on the career of Charles Busch; A Very Serious Person written by Charles Busch, starring Polly Bergen; Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell starring Marc Wolf; and My Dog: An Unconditional Love Story a documentary exploring the relationships of well known New Yorkers and their dogs.

The Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Award annually honors a gifted theatre artist or organization, providing them with financial support as they develop new works in an artistic residency.  The first Creative Spirit Award was given to Michael Mayer in 1996.  Over the years the award has been given to Mark Brokaw, SinanUnel, StevenWilliford, Cybille Pearson, G. W. Mercier, Edwin Sanchez, Debra Monk, Kia Corthron, Michael Wilson, Karen Hartman, Anika Noni Rose, David Pittu, Musical Theatre Works, New Dramatists, LAByrinth Theatre, and Playing on Air, Public Radio’s showcase for great American short contemporary plays.

Ms. Roth is a Member of the Mayor’s Theater Subdistrict Council, an Honorary Trustee for Lincoln Center Theater, and served on the Board of Directors of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and New York State Council on the Arts.

Awards and honors include: The 2016 Order of the Golden Sphinx award from The Hasty Pudding Institute of 1770;  The 2014 New York Living Landmarks award; The 2013 Einstein Humanitarian Award from The Women’s Division and Albert Einstein College of Medicine; The 2013 Broadway Association Visionary Leader Award; The Stella Adler 2012 Harold Clurman Spirit Award; the 2012 Family Equality Council Hostetter-Habib Family Award; The 2011 Live Out Loud Humanitarian Award, 2010 Lucille Lortel Lifetime Achievement Award, Primary Stages 2007 Honoree, The National Foundation for Jewish Culture’s Patron of the Arts Award, The Jewish Theological Seminary’s Louis Marshall Award, The Albert Einstein College of Medicine Spirit of Achievement Award, The National Corporate Theatre Fund’s Chairman Award, and The Tisch School of the Arts Award for Artistic Leadership.  Ms. Roth was profiled in The New Yorker and twice included in Crain’s “100 Most Influential Women in Business.”